Mauritian Rupee (MUR)

Mauritian Rupee



Mauritian Rupee (MUR) is the currency of Mauritius. The Bank of Mauritius is the central bank responsible in the issuance of Mauritian currency. Issued Coins in denominations of 5, 20 and 50 cents and 1, 5, and 10 rupees and Bank Notes in denominations of 25, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 and 2000 rupees.

Portraits and Designs of Mauritian Rupee Bills and Coins

2000 Mauritian Rupees

Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (1900-1985) was a Philanthropist, a Politician, and a Statesman. He served as the first Chief Minister and Prime Minister, 6th Governor General and Chairperson of the African Unity Organization. He fought for the labor rights of Mauritians which lead to their 1968 Independence. He was known as the “Father of the Nation”. Public places such as garden, national airport, recreational center, and streets were named after him. Monuments were built in Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Botanical Garden, Caudan Waterfront, and Patna.

  • 1000 Mauritian Rupees

Sir Charles Gaetan Duval (1930-1996) was a Lawyer and a Politician. He was the leader of Mauritian Social Democratic Party. Legion of Honour was awarded to him by France and was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II. Facilities in Mauritius were named after him.

  • 500 Mauritian Rupees

Sookdeo Bissoondoyal (1908-1977) was a Leading Figures in Independence Movement and a Politician. He founded the Independent Forward Bloc, a political party.

  • 200 Mauritian Rupees

Sir Abdool Razack Mahamed (1906-1978) was the Political Leader of the CAM (Comite D’Action Musulman) Party. He helped in bringing independence to Mauritius. He became a deputy Prime Minister, Housing and Land Development Minister and Social Security Minister. A street in Port Louis was named after him.

  • 100 Mauritian Rupees

Renganaden Seeneevassen (1910-1958) was a Barrister and a Labour Activist. He was elected as 3rd Deputy of Port Louis and participated in London as Principal Leader of the Labour Party.

  • 50 Mauritian Rupees

Joseph Maurice Paturau (1916-1996) was a Reserve Officer in Aviation, a CEO of Forges Tardieu and a Chairman-Director of the Joint Economic Committee in Port Louis. His decorations include Colonial Medal with “Libya”, Commander of the British Empire, Commander of the Legion of Honour, Commander of the National Order of Merit, Companion of the Liberation in 1944, Cross of War 39/45, Distinguished Flying Cross and Volunteer Services Medical in Free France.

  • 25 Mauritian Rupees

Jean Etienne Moi Lin Ah Chuen (1911-1991) was a Retail Shop Owner and a Promoter of Chinese Tradition. He became the youngest President of Chinese Chamber of Commerce, a Co-founder of Chinese Daily News, a Founder-member of World Hakka Federation, a Representative of Mauritius Legislative Assembly and an Appointed Minister of Mauritius. A street in Beau Bassin Municipality was named after him. ABC Group made a cultural, educational and social foundation in his name.

Reverse side of all coins have the portrait of Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam

  • 10 Mauritian Rupees

Labourer Cutting Sugar Cane in a Field represents the condition of Mauritians who highly depend on their sugar economy.

  • 5 Mauritian Rupees

Palm trees and Sea became main attractions of their country. Tourists used to crave for the heat of the sun and for the shade of beautiful Mauritian Palm trees.

  • 1 Mauritian Rupee

Coat of Arm of Mauritius consists of Dodo Bird on the left, Sambur Deer on the right, two sugar cane and shield with four divisions. Written on the bottom portion is the Latin motto “Stella Clavisque Maris Indici” which means “The Star and the Key of the Indian Ocean”. It was designed by Johann Van Der Puf, the Mayor of Johannesburg.

  • 50 Cents

Java (Rusa) Deer with a scientific name “Cervus Timorensis Rusa”. It was brought by Adrian Van Der Stel, a Dutch Governor, and raised in a small park in Mauritius. Some deer escaped the area after a great storm which allowed them to escape. As a result, certain areas were designated as hunting zones.

  • 20 Cents

Number 20 with the name of the country and the year of minting.

  • 5 Cents

Number 5 with the name of the country and the year of minting.

Join our Newsletter Sign Up for Regular Updates!

Related posts

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.