Euro (EUR)



Euro (EUR) has been the official currency of the countries under Eurozone.  Eurozone consists of 19 out of 28 different states of the European Union.  Namely as follows:  Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain.  The European Central Bank is the monetary authority administering the Eurozone’s Policy.  The coin denominations are 2 and 1 euro, 50c, 20c, 10c, 5c, 2c and 1c.  The bill denominations are 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10, and 5 euro.  The 1c and 2c were produced for the benefit of the citizens to avoid retailers from rounding off prices to the nearest cents.

Portraits and Designs of Euro Bills and Coins

The designs feature different architectural styles from different periods in Europe’s History

  • 500 euro

Modern 20th Century Architecture style is an architectural design with technological advancement and modernization.

  • 200 euro

Age of Iron and Glass or the 19th Century of Architecture style is the start of Industrial Revolution Era or the Pre Modern Architecture.  The materials used in building structures during this century were whole or partial prefabricated cast iron.

  • 100 euro

Baroque and Rococo Architecture style started in late 16th century.  The design was characterized by a new style of dramatic intensity, form, light, and shadow. The distinguishing features of this style are broader naves, external facade, illusory effect, large-scale ceiling mural painting, pear-shaped dome and shade contrast.

  • 50 euro

Renaissance Architecture style indicated the closing of Middle Age and the rising of Modern Age.   The distinguishing features of this style are the symmetry and regularity of parts like hemispherical domes, niches, semi-circular arches and a small shrine.

  • 20 euro

Gothic Architecture style referred to the architectural evolution of Romanesque Style.  Most cathedrals and churches were built based on Gothic Style.  The defining characteristics of this style are the ogival arch inspired by Romanesque Buildings in France and irregular shaped or trapezoid roofs.

  • 10 euro

Romanesque Architecture style is also called as “Norman Architecture”.  It refers to the Medieval Architectural Style in Europe which emerged in the late 10th century.  The design is commonly distinguished by its decorative arcading, large towers, semicircular arches, sturdy pillars, thick walls, and vaults.  Many castles were built on this time period.

  • 5 euro

Classical Architecture style refers to both ancient Greek and Rome Architectural designs.  Greek Architecture was designed with the influence of Greek culture.  Roman Architecture was based on their patron, emperor Caesar Augustus.

  • 2 and 1 euro, 50c, 20c and 10c

The reverse side shows the geographical image of the whole of Europe.

  • 5c, 2c, and 1c

The reverse side shows Europe in relation to northern part of Africa and western part of Asia.

Note: The common in the reverse side of all coins are 6 fine lines cut diagonally and 12 stars at their ends.  The obverse side of all coins presents the national side which indicates the issuing country.

Join our Newsletter Sign Up for Regular Updates!

Related posts

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.